You are now leaving the City of College Station websiteloading

Early voting begins Monday, Jan. 13

Last item for navigation
Early voting begins Monday; Runoff contingency plan announced
Posted on 01/10/2020
Early voting begins Monday for the special election to fill the vacant Place-4 seat on the College Station City Council.

Ballot order for candidates:
• Marycruz DeLeón Morales
• David Fujimoto
• Elizabeth Cunha
• Joe Guerra, Jr.

The vacancy was created when Councilwoman Elianor Vessali announced she would resign her seat in order to campaign for the Republican nomination for the U.S. Congressional Dist. 17 seat.

A full calendar for the special election can be found at Among the key dates:

Early voting period: Jan. 13-24
College Station Utilities Meeting & Training Facility, 1603 Graham Road.
Jan. 13-17: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Jan. 20: Closed for Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Jan. 21-22: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Jan. 23-24: 8 a.m.-8 p.m.

Special Election Day: Jan. 28, 7 a.m.-7 p.m.
College Station City Hall, 1101 Texas Ave.

If there is a clear winner…
Results of the Jan. 28 special election will be canvassed during a special meeting of the city council on Feb. 6, and the winner could be sworn-in afterward. 

To win the special election outright, a candidate must win 50% of the votes plus one additional vote.

If there is not a clear winner…
If no candidate earns 50% +1, the top two candidates will meet again in a runoff election. Should that scenario be required, the following schedule will be implemented.

Early voting period: April 1-14 (times to be announced)
College Station Utilities Meeting & Training Facility, 1603 Graham Road.

Runoff Election Day: April 18 (times to be announced)
College Station City Hall, 1101 Texas Ave.

The unexpired term for Place-4 runs through November 2021, at which point the seat will be on the ballot for a full three-year term.

City of College Station | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2024 Civiclive.