All applicants must possess one of the following;
A valid Texas Commission on Fire Protection Basic Structural Firefighter Certification and TDSHS EMT-Basic or NREMT-B certification.
Other minimum standards are as follows:
- At least 18 years of age.
- Possess a valid Texas driver’s license.
- Have no more than 3 moving traffic violations within any 12 month period during the last 3 years.
- No night vision restrictions that cannot be corrected with standard glasses or contact lenses.
- Minimum vision of 20/200 in both eyes, correctable to 20/40.
- Have no eye condition that restricts peripheral vision.
- No D.U.I. or D.W.I. convictions within the last three years as of date of application
- Weight/height must be proportionate.
- Free of any physical or mental condition that would interfere with the essential functions of a firefighter/paramedic.
- Able to pass a medical/physical examination and drug screening.
- Not have been convicted of
- Any felony offense
- Any Class A misdemeanor or equivalent
- Any Class B misdemeanor within the previous 12 months
- Any offense involving Family Violence as defined by the Texas Penal Code.
- Any Class C misdemeanor (except minor traffic violations) within six months